DARE Officer of the Year

DARE Officer of the Year

Wisconsin DARE Officer of the Year Award
It’s that time of year to think about that special D.A.R.E. Officer in your community or agency. Think about the Officer who goes that extra mile, the one who really makes a difference to the kids and the community. Consider nominating that officer for the Wisconsin D.A.R.E. Officers Association, Joe Muniz Memorial D.A.R.E. Officer of the Year Award.

Nominations are Due No Later than MAY 1,2024
The recipient of the D.A.R.E. Officer of the Year Award will be honored during the W.D.O.A.’s Annual Conference,  
Must be a current member, in good standing, of the WDOA
Must be currently teaching the D.A.R.E. curriculum in the elementary, middle school.
Must be an exemplary role model.
Must be nominated by a Chief, Sheriff, supervisor or fellow D.A.R.E. officer.
Must also be nominated by school personnel (Teacher, Principal, A.O.D.A. Coordinator or Guidance counselor)Additional letters of recommendation from current or former students and from the community are welcome.
All nominations must be in writing and are to be mailed to;
W D O A Board of Directors

Joe Muniz was one of Racine County’s first DARE Officers. Not only was he an outstanding DARE Officer but also a community advocate when it came to keeping Kids away from the dangers of drugs and alcohol.
Joe passed away in 1996 during his term as president of the WDOA. We felt it only fitting that we name the DARE Officer of The Year in Joe’s honor.

Past WDOA DARE Officer of the Year Recipients
2023 Josh Jewell, Hales Corners PD
2022 Kevin Weinshrott, New Lisbon, PD
2021 Mark Richter Park Falls PD.
2020 Jamie Jaeger Merrill PD
2019 Kurt Weaver-La Crosse PD
2018 Dennis Richards, Columbia County Sheriff
2017 Ray Rowe – Kenosha County SO
2016 Stacy Schroeder – Watertown PD
2015 Laurie Zondlo – Price County SO
2014 Rod Dicus  – Dunn County SO
2013 Bruce Brown – Antigo PD

2012 Nate Gallagher – Grant County SO
2011 – Steven Albarado – Pierce County
2010 – Joel Dhein – Glendale PD
2009 – Maureen Pilsner – Wausau PD
2008- John Siegel – La Crosse County Sheriff’s Dept
2007  Jim Kirchberger – Menomonee Falls PD
2006 -Steve Sikora – Racine County Sheriff
2005 -Mike Walsh – Greenfield PD
2004 – Greg Walters – La Crosse PD
2003 – 2002 – Tom Brennan – Monona PD
2001 – Jeff Hardel – Wausau PD
2000 – Diana O’Neal – DeForest PD
1999 – Brian Bausch – Washington County Sheriff
1998 – Mike Drexler – Oshkosh PD
1997 – Jeff Smith – Germantown PD