DARE Officer of the Year

Wisconsin DARE Officer of the Year Award

It's that time of year to think about that special D.A.R.E. Officer in your community or agency. Think about the Officer who goes that extra mile, the one who really makes a difference to the kids and the community. Consider nominating that officer for the Wisconsin D.A.R.E. Officers Association,Joe Muniz Memorial D.A.R.E. Officer of the Year Award.

Nominations are Due No Later than MAY 15, 2020

The recipient of the D.A.R.E. Officer of the Year Award will be honored during the W.D.O.A.'s Annual Conference,  July 27-29, 2020 Lake Geneva, WI.


  1. Must be a current member, in good standing, of the WDOA
  2. Must be currently teaching the D.A.R.E. curriculum in the elementary, middle school.
  3. Must be an exemplary role model.
  4. Must be nominated by a Chief, Sheriff, supervisor or fellow D.A.R.E. officer.
  5. Must also be nominated by school personnel (Teacher, Principal, A.O.D.A. Coordinator or Guidance counselor)
  6. Additional letters of recommendation from current or former students and from the community are welcome.
  7. All nominations must be in writing and are to be mailed to;

W D O A Board of Directors
1969 W Mill Rd
Jackson, WI 53037


Joe Muniz was one of Racine Counties first DARE Officers. Not only was he an outstanding DARE Officer but also a community advocate when it came to keeping Kids away from the dangers of drugs and alcohol.

Joe passed away in 1996 during his term as president of the WDOA. We felt it only fitting that we name the DARE Officer of The Year in Joe's honor.

Past WDOA DARE Officer of the Year Recipients

2019 Kurt Weaver-La Crosse PD

2018 Dennis Richards, Columbia County Sheriff

2017 Ray Rowe - Kenosha County SO

2016 Stacy Schroeder - Watertown PD

2015 Laurie Zondlo - Price County SO

2014 Rod Dicus  - Dunn County SO

2013 Bruce Brown – Antigo PD

2012 Nate Gallagher – Grant County SO

2011 - Steven Albarado - Pierce County

2010 - Joel Dhein - Glendale PD

2009 - Maureen Pilsner - Wausau PD

2008- John Siegel - La Crosse County Sheriff's Dept

2007 - Jim Kirchberger - Menomonee Falls PD

2006 -Steve Sikora - RacineCounty Sheriff

2005 -Mike Walsh - Greenfield PD

2004 - Greg Walters - La Crosse PD

2003 - 

2002 - Tom Brennan - Monona PD

2001 - Jeff Hardel - Wausau PD

2000 - Diana O'Neal - DeForest PD

1999 - Brian Bausch - Washington County Sheriff

1998 - Mike Drexler - Oshkosh PD

1997 - Jeff Smith - Germantown PD